Blueberry Sour Cream Scones

I wish I could say I had a good reason for not posting anything new for months now. I mean, I have several little reasons. Things like exams and newspaper duties. Things like a new job for the summer (administrative duties). And then another job.

I know what you’re thinking. Why on earth would you pick up another job when you’re already exhausted every day after your first job?

Because the new job… is as a pastry assistant.

Hold. The. Phone.

I have wanted to work in a pastry shop/bakery kitchen for ages now and I would always walk by those bakeries with the big open windows so that you can see the employees piping, kneading, measuring… and I would feel so jealous.

Well, I emailed my resume and a couple of photos of my past baking adventures to a couple of bakeries in town. And one of them answered.

Like, that was exciting enough as it was for me because I had no experience in a professional kitchen. But after I went in for a test/training period, they hired me, and now I get to cut and measure insane amounts of butter (they come in 25kg boxes!), make pastry cream, pipe pastry cream into tart shells, cut out pastry rounds…

To some, that might sound boring, but to me, it’s a challenge. And frankly, it’s exhilarating.

So I’ve been waking up at 5am, starting my job in the kitchen at 6am, coming home at 11am, then starting my second job at noon. I’ve been absolutely exhausted.

But you’d think that after hours every day of measuring flour, stirring jam, and flattening butter, the last thing I’d want to do when I get home is bake more. WRONG.

Which is the story behind these scones, really. I was itching to use these big juicy blueberries I picked up from the grocery store, and there’s something so wonderful about having breakfast pastries in the apartment…

I’m really upset that I don’t have a high-quality camera to use right now, so the photos aren’t exactly at their best lately. But this recipe was simply too wonderful not to share.

Image

Adapted from Olga’s Flavor Factory

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, frozen
1/2 cup milk (I used 2%)
1/2 cup sour cream
1 cup blueberries

1/2 tbsp melted butter
2 tbsp raw sugar

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425ºF. Whisk dry ingredients together in a bowl. Place bowl in fridge.
2. Whisk milk and sour cream together in a bowl. Place that bowl in the fridge as well.
3. Take out the dry ingredient bowl from the fridge. Take frozen butter out of the freezer and grate using a wide-toothed cheese grater (not a microplane) into the flour mixture.
4. Lightly toss the flour and butter so that the butter is coated with the flour mixture.
5. Place back in the refrigerator while you wash blueberries. Dry the blueberries.
6. Mix all ingredients together to form a combined dough.
7. Form a round disk with the dough and place on a greased cookie tray or silicone baking mat. Cut dough into 8 wedges.
8. Brush melted butter over dough and sprinkle raw sugar over it.
9. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the tops are nicely golden brown.

IMG_20140524_150936

2 comments

  1. That’s so exciting! I would probably take on a job as a pastry assistant if offered to me…even though I have no time. THese scones look too good to be true!

Leave a Reply

