Low Fat Butter Chicken

So I’ve got a problem. Well, it’s not so much of a problem as it is me complaining about two main things:

1. I’m pretty much out of flour in the apartment which means no baking.

So why not dip into the money I’ve earned and spend more on groceries? (Which I already do quite profusely—barring rent and tuition, I legitimately spend about 75% of my money on groceries) Because of the second thing.

2. I have 4 midterms coming up.

IMG_9398

Which isn’t too bad, of course, and as a student I should expect nothing less. But Ben made the suggestion that maybe it’s a good thing that I’m out of flour and that I shouldn’t buy more until midterms are over.

IMG_9399

It sounds silly because the amount of flour in our household should not be correlated with my academic performance, but just ask my roommate how last semester went.

Let’s just say I baked pretty much every other day during finals season.

It might be a teensy bit sad that I don’t seem to have the self-control to just hunker down and study all the neuroendocrine regulations I have to know, but I’ve come to accept it.

And so I’m solving this by cooking instead of baking, obviously.

IMG_9400

My roommate and I are slightly obsessed with butter chicken. And naan bread. Like seriously obsessed. And we always talk about going out to eat and finally getting our fix of both but… well, the money thing again.

And while I am by no means trained or experienced in cooking Indian cuisine, I thought I’d give it a shot. Because butter chicken.

I thought I’d cut back on some of the fat though, so I’ve stuck with just a smidgen of butter and replacing the cream with all milk. Turns out it’s still delicious. Not really authentic—but tasty, that’s for sure.

IMG_9401

Ingredients

Adapted from You Too Can Cook

3 chicken thighs, deboned and cubed
2 tbsp tomato paste
2 medium onions, chopped
1 tbsp butter
1 bay leaf, crushed
1 tbsp ginger, grated
3 cloves garlic, grated
1 tbsp chili powder
2 tbsp curry powder
1 tbsp sugar
1 cup 2% milk
2/3 cup water
salt

Directions

1. Debone and cube chicken. In a blender, blitz chopped onions and tomato paste until it forms a uniform paste
2. In a skillet on medium high, melt butter. Once sizzling, add in crushed bay leaf. Stir for about a minute.
3. Add in grated ginger and garlic, continuing to stir for another half a minute.
4. Add in chili powder, curry powder, and sugar. Stir mixture to combine.
5. Place cubed chicken into the skillet, then add milk and water. Mix until uniform. Allow chicken to sit for around 10-15 minutes. Add more milk if too thick. Salt to taste.
6. Serve over rice!

IMG_9402

2 comments

Leave a Reply

