Homemade Pizza Night: Pizza Dough For One

I have a severe addiction to pizza. Those who know me actually like to stretch the pizza-obsession joke as wide and thin as possible (or as a ball of pizza dough…) People send me links to photos of pizza. Of t-shirts that say things like “I’d rather be eating pizza”. To those sardonic e-cards that say “I just like pizza so much  more than people”.

I would protest but I actually find it kind of funny. Besides… pizza

Yeah, that’s the extent of that argument. People could just end arguments with “but…pizza” and they’d probably come out on top. Just saying.

IMG_9132

And turns out pizza dough is incredibly easy to make. Sure, mine doesn’t look like Lombardi’s from NY or a classic Chicago deep dish, but I was impressed with how simple this was to throw together. I just tossed my dough ingredients together right before going to bed last night, stretched the dough half an hour before putting it into the oven, and sprinkled all my favorite ingredients on top.

IMG_9133

I couldn’t find any fresh mozzarella at my grocery store, but next time, I’m definitely gonna spring for some good quality cheese—and equally good Italian sausage.

IMG_9158

Ingredients

Dough
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 tsp salt
1/12 tsp active dry yeast (about a pinch)
1/2 cup warm water

Toppings
1/4 cup marinara sauce
1/2 sausage
1 handful of spinach
1/4 cup chopped onions
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella
olive oil, for drizzling

Directions

1. Pour warm water into a large bowl. Whisk flour, salt, and yeast together in a separate bowl, then add into water.
2. Mix to form dough ball. Cover with plastic wrap and set aside in a room temperature setting for 12-18 hours.
3. Preheat oven to 500°F.
4. Stretch dough using fingers on a well-floured surface. Lift dough up and let gravity stretch the dough further. Don’t be afraid to go thinner!
5. Drizzle with olive oil, then add marinara sauce, spreading it evenly around the dough but leaving the edges untouched. Sprinkle with half of the mozzarella.
6. Add toppings of your choice, then the rest of the mozzarella, then another drizzle of olive oil.
7. Bake for about 10-12 minutes.

IMG_9168

Leave a Reply

