Easy No-Knead Bread: Beautiful Crust, Soft Crumb

You guys. Target is my favorite place on the planet. Yesterday, Ben and I went just to pick up some toiletries (and maybe to gaze longingly at the kitchen aisles and all of their beautiful cookware). And I’ve always prided myself in my ability to zero in on clearance stickers no matter what store I’m shopping at. But when my eyes fell upon this ruby red Calphalon Dutch oven and its matching red clearance sticker, my eyes nearly popped out of their sockets. It’s a 5 quart enameled pot, similar to the esteemed Le Creuset one that runs for $320 (yes, three hundred and twenty bucks), and it was on clearance for $34.99, down from $114.99. IMG_9061 I’ve been meaning to buy a Dutch oven ever since I saw those recipes for no-knead breads that require the steam that these Dutch ovens are able to capture beneath their lids, but I couldn’t bring myself to order one online, much less one that costs over $300.
IMG_9047
So when I saw this at 1/10 of the price of a Le Creuset, I nearly passed out right in the middle of Target’s kitchen section. Yes, that’s how much I’m obsessed with kitchenware. This Dutch oven is heavy, shiny, and sturdy—oh, and did I mention worth every penny? (Kudos to Ben for pushing me off the proverbial fence to make the purchase) IMG_9048

I love bread. Honestly, how could you not? It takes a minimal amount of ingredients, it goes with everything, and it’s the Cover Girl of all foods—so photogenic you’ll wanna cry. And these no-knead recipes are a cinch to pull off. Check out that crust and crumb! I’m in love.
IMG_9057

Ingredients

Adapted from Cooking Classy

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp yeast
1 2/3 (scant) cups of warm water

Directions

1. Mix flour, salt, and yeast together in a big bowl. 2. Pour in warm water and combine until a uniform dough forms. 3. Cover bowl and let rise for 12 hours. 4. Preheat oven with Dutch oven inside for half an hour at 450°F. 5. Form desired shape for the dough and once the half hour has passed, transfer dough into the Dutch oven and immediately cover with the lid. 6. Bake covered for 30 minutes. Then, uncover the pot and bake for another 15 minutes. 7. Remove and allow bread to cool on a wire rack. Cut with a serrated knife to serve.

Leave a Reply

