Chewy Dark Chocolate and Peppermint Cookies

I was chatting with one of my friends the other day about baking and I told her resolutely that baking cookies is actually one of the toughest endeavors for me.

“Really?” She sounded baffled. “But they’re the most standard desserts to make!”

I agree—most people try baking chocolate chip cookies before tackling things like cheesecakes or muffins, but I’ve always found that unless I was baking out of a mix from the grocery store, my cookies always ended up looking too imperfect. Too flat, too puffy, too soft, too crispy, too sugary, too buttery, too smooth (not enough of a crackly top), too boring… For some reason, perfecting the visual part of a cookie has always been at the forefront of my thought process when baking cookies, and I was terrified of getting it wrong.


Photo Jan 02, 5 28 51 PM

Everyone has a different preference when it comes to cookie texture. Some people prefer crispy, some people prefer chewy, some people prefer puffy, some people prefer flat. These cookies have a very specific texture. They’re chewy and flat—and that’s what I was truly looking for. The key was to really cream the butter and sugar until completely combined (I’ve had previous pitfalls where the butter was still very streaky). Another key was to have both white and brown sugar. Yet another key was to opt out of using baking powder (for a flatter cookie).

Photo Jan 02, 5 28 56 PM

But even though I’ve finally found a cookie recipe I like, this is hardly the end of my cookie trials. I’m still itching to experiment with all the other infinite cookie textures to find the perfect one.

I packaged these cookies up in a cellophane bag for a gift. Have I mentioned how obsessed I am with cellophane bags? Is it weird to like them so much? Probably.

Ingredients

Adapted from Rock Recipes

1 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup chopped candy canes or peppermints
1/4 cup chopped dark chocolate

Yields 16 cookies

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
2. Combine flour, salt, and baking soda in a bowl.
3. In a separate bowl, cream butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar until thoroughly combined.
4. Add in the egg and vanilla and beat until incorporated.
5. Stir in the flour mixture, the candy canes, and the dark chocolate. Mix until combined.
6. Spoon dough onto a greased cookie tray, at least 2 inches apart. My dough was about 2 inches in diameter.
7. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until edges are golden brown. Remove from oven and let cool completely before handling. If you move them around while they’re still warm, they will likely fall apart.

Photo Jan 02, 7 16 01 PM

2 comments

Leave a Reply

