Gluten Free Maple Walnut Bars

Gluten-Free Maple Walnut Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting

I have been so full all week. Ben and I went on a road trip, hitting Boston, Providence, and New York, and it should come as no surprise that our days were planned largely around our food excursions. We’ve been eating some amazing things, but let’s just say that I feel like my skinny jeans are feeling a little tighter than usual.

One thing that can be tricky about a food trip as someone who has a gluten sensitivity is that it can be very hard to turn down delicious-looking dishes and desserts when everyone else seems to be enjoying them so much. I’m very grateful and lucky that I don’t have Celiac’s, but eating gluten does give me some stomach troubles, so ultimately I have to ask myself whether or not eating the food in question will be worth the tummy ache later on.

And with a food trip? It usually was. Yikes.

Gluten Free Maple Walnut Bars

But now the trip is over and I’m glad we went on it. It was so much fun and such a good experience. I was just itching to go back to baking and making home-cooked food.

Even though I was pretty good about the gluten (I had only tasted two or three desserts that contained flour and spent the rest of the week gluten-free), I wanted to go back to a more gluten-free lifestyle.

Enter these bars.

Gluten Free Maple Walnut Bars

They’re sweet, chewy, and crunchy with the walnuts. I love the sweetness from the maple syrup and the cream cheese frosting was so delicious—without any butter in it! They’re a little crumbly, but I liked that it gave the bars a bit more texture. They’re perfect for anyone—regardless of whether or not you lead a gluten-free lifestyle.

Gluten Free Maple Walnut Bars

Ingredients

Maple Walnut Bars

1 cup white rice flour
1/2 cup tapioca starch
1/2 cup corn starch
1/2 tsp xantham gum
1/4 cup quick oats
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup butter, softened at room temperature
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract

Cream Cheese Frosting

12 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. In a bowl, combine all the dry ingredients.
2. In a separate bowl, beat together butter and sugar. Slowly add in the egg, maple syrup, and vanilla.
3. Combine the dry ingredients with the wet.
4. In a greased square pan, pour in the batter.
5. Bake bars for about 25 minutes or until set.
6. Meanwhile, beat together cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar, and vanilla to create frosting.
7. Allow bars to cool. Then, cut into squares and frost.

6 comments

  1. What an awesome bar recipe and I love that the cream cheese frosting doesn’t have any butter in it! I will have to try these! Thanks so much for sharing on Saturday Night Fever! I hope to see you back again tonight! :)

  2. After going over a few of the blog posts
    on your web page, I really appreciate your technique of blogging.
    I added it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my web site too
    and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

