Dark Chocolate Brownies

Dark Chocolate Brownies

Let’s talk about decisions for a second.

Decisions are hard. And life is always filled with them—the most difficult kinds. And the worst part is, avoiding them typically only makes things worse.

I have a thousand and one different things I should be doing right now, and one of them is studying (as per usual). The other is baking for a bake sale that I promised to help with. And another is preparing for an interview I have tonight. One that could potentially mean a lot of big changes in my forthcoming life. But the thing is, that’s barely scratching the surface of my to-do list. So what’s the decision? What do I deal with first?

I opted for baking first. Mostly because I think it uses my time best with my wacky schedule today, but also because baking is calming. And so what to bake?

That decision was easy.

BROWNIES.

Dark Chocolate Brownies

Brownies get a lot of attention, so almost every recipe out there is a variant of the classical or original brownie that we all grew up loving. And while I’ll never say no to walnuts or caramel or coconut with my brownies, sometimes you just gotta go for something a little more simple. Especially on crazy days like this.

Dark Chocolate Brownies

But there’s still room for something special in a simple brownie recipe. Which is why I decided on using dark chocolate. Decadent, fudgy, and most importantly: chocolatey. 

I’m almost certain “chocolatey” isn’t a word but it might as well be.

These brownies get their chocolately kick by using melted dark chocolate, cocoa powder, and a spoonful of espresso powder, which enhances chocolate in a way so surreal that I sometimes wonder why any recipe out there would opt out of using it.

These brownies are a good balance between fudgy and cakey, which is what people like Ben look for in a decent brownie—I asked him this morning. Let’s just say that I’ve been thinking about baking brownies for a while now, and I wanted to know what kind of texture game I was going to be playing. The fudgy/cakey balance is so key. Good call, Ben.

Dark Chocolate Brownies

Ingredients

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp instant espresso
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 cup dark chocolate, chopped
5 tbsp butter
3 large eggs
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350ºF. Line a square baking tray with parchment paper and grease lightly.
2. In a bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, espresso powder, baking powder, and salt. Whisk together.
3. In a separate bowl, add chocolate and butter. Melt either in the microwave or over a double broiler.
4. In a different large bowl, whisk eggs, the two sugars, and vanilla together.
5. Add in melted chocolate to the egg mixture. Then, slowly add the flour mixture. Whisk until thoroughly combined.
6. Pour batter into the square baking tray. Bake for about 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the pan comes out almost completely clean.

16 comments

  1. I have been majorly craving brownies for about a week now…and this post totally isn’t helping!! Your brownies look amazing, and I’m certain if I had a plate of them in front of me right now they’d be devoured embarrassingly quickly. Yum!

  2. Awww, it sounds like you have some stressful times! Good luck with your interview; it’s always good to take time out to do something relaxing and calming… baking always does it for me, too! :D

  3. I don’t drink coffee so no espresso in the house. Does it really make these brownies or would they be just as good without it?

  4. Oh. My. God. I have been searching for the perfect brownie recipe forever. I just made these with the slightest alterations (replaced baking powder with 1/8 tsp. baking soda, and used 1/2 cup all-purpose flour 1/4 cup bread flour) hoping to get a slightly fudgier brownie.

    A chocolate miracle happened in my kitchen tonight. These things could win prizes. Thank you SO much, you baking goddess you!!!

Leave a Reply

